Butterfly

When I was going through some trials, someone once told me something about a certain species of butterflies. He bassically said “You know how they start out as caterpillars and then they break out as butterflies?” I answered “Yeah.” Then he said “There’s a certain kind of butterfly–I don’t the name of it–that will die if anyone tries to help it out of its cocoon.”

Then he said “It might be like that with you.” The man said something to the effect of “You’re going through changes and you’re about to become something else, but only you can do it. I can’t do it for you. No one else can do it for you.”

I think he was talking about becoming a man and an independent adult. He may have been talking about navigating college and finding work too. When I went for a walk yesterday, I thought to myself “He didn’t know how right he was.”

Published by Debrezion Berhe Gebre

I write so my words and story can last longer than me. My name is Debrezion; I’m also known as Derezion, Dee or Azen. I always know where I am by what people call me. I enjoy church, using computers, and of course writing. I’ve been to Ethiopia twice. I was reared in California, USA but my parents are from Ethiopia. I’m lucky to be alive and I should thank God for that.

Leave a comment