Comparisons and My Success

There’s a mixed bunch on WordPress specifically among my contacts. One person I’m following has been blogging for like 5 years longer than me and actually writes articles and I write unusual lists and other stuff and I have more followers. I have about 50 and he has about 30.

Someone else I follow has 20 thousand followers and writes religious posts. Another has 40 who writes about a variety of topics and is what I call a big time blogger with products and affilitate links. Someone else who follows me has about 100 thousand last I checked. This man with 100 thousands followers also said he’s writing full time now.

Lastly, there is someone who writes, again, articles and started his blog in 2011 who only has 5 followers.

I don’t know how I got more followers than people who write better than me and have been blogging for longer than me. I have a hunch though.

Let me start at the beginning. My main blog was originally called “This is FresYes.” Looking back I see that means whenever someone searched for “FresYes” they may have come across my blog. That’s free advertising! My WordPress.com username used to be citdee1. I later learned that citdee means something in the tech and professional community in India so again people may have searched for “citdee” and stumbled on my blog. My stats show that I have gotten traffic from India and I have one follower from there.

Next, I changed the name of my blog to “School Advisor 26.” It could be that people have Googled “school advisor” and found my blog once I changed the name. I could named my blog after myself. Would I have gotten less traffic because no one would Google a obscure Ethiopian name? I don’t know.

Finally, I used a lot of tags on my posts. I think that helped people find my posts in the Reader. I used tags and categories before I knew how to do it logically. I used to use tags with misspellings, special characters, and long tags because I could. I would write posts on the WordPress.com app for Kindle Fire. That allowed me to use very special characters and I wrote odd tags because I felt like my blog was disposable. Here I am almost 6 years later and it’s a part of my life. I also tend to write short posts that can be read in minutes. If I were following a blog I would definitely want to read 1 page posts as opposed to 5 page posts every time.

The end.

Published by Debrezion Berhe Gebre

I write so my words and story can last longer than me. My name is Debrezion; I’m also known as Derezion, Dee or Azen. I always know where I am by what people call me. I enjoy church, using computers, and of course writing. I’ve been to Ethiopia twice. I was reared in California, USA but my parents are from Ethiopia. I’m lucky to be alive and I should thank God for that.

Leave a comment